Indigo Tries Strongbow Honey!

9 out of 10

Would recommend for anyone who enjoys suave drinks. That’s right. Suave.

More information can be found here.

5% ABV. Retails for about $10 for a 6-pack.

Strongbow is a name in Cider that I’ve heard many things about. Most people agree that it is a high-class cider. It’s got a fancy art-deco label. It’s logo is an impressionist drawing of a fellow shooting a bow. It’s flavors are things like Gold Apple (the standard flavor) and Cherry Blossom.

However, there’s one thing I’ve heard, which I can’t shake: Strongbow has changed it’s recipe (for Gold Apple) and it’s not good. This worried me because I believe that if companies change their recipes, it should either improve the product or have a legitimate legal reason. I feel that transparency is key to the worth of a company.  With that said, I still enjoy the Gold Apple. Perhaps it is my untrained tastebuds, but I do not taste a difference in the Gold Apple recently that my comrades do.

However, I’m here to talk about Strongbow Honey. And boy do I have opinions! As long as I have been drinking (legally or illegally), I have been drinking ciders. Honey is something new in my cider world, and it creates a wonderful drink that may usurp Angry Orchard for my favorite cider. (THIS IS A BIG DEAL, FOLKS.)

The Strongbow Honey is described on it’s website as fruity and floral. This is basically true. What they fail to mention is that all of these things apply to smell and MORE IMPORTANTLY, taste. Like all ciders, the drink hits your tongue in a rush of sour and acidic. The apple really kicks in the moment you take a taste of Honey.

The acidity does not linger, however. It quickly turns into a wonderful smooth feeling that reminds me of actual honey sliding on my tongue. The taste in this mid-point is sweet and floral. It reminds me of my favorite honey brand. I catch myself thinking of summers spent in honeysuckle patches and running with a golden retriever. This sounds really cheesy, and I wish I was kidding, but I’m really not. This cider genuinely reminds me of summer nights.

It finishes off with a nut and apple taste with some of the sweetness going down. It’s smooth the whole way through and lingers so beautifully.

In short, I love this cider. It’s become a regular for my fridge and I hope to be drinking it for years! Also, Strongbow has this flavor quiz that makes me really happy for nostalgia reasons:

https://www.strongbow.com/en-us/flavor-quiz

One thought on “Indigo Tries Strongbow Honey!

Leave a Reply

