Indigo Tries Fun Factory Dolly Bi!

8 out of 10

Pairs well with a nice Cabernet Sauvignon. A little acidic, but mostly robust and rather dry.

It tends to retail for about $100. 6.9″ long total, 1.6″ diameter. 6 vibration intensities and 6 patterns.

20170322_075934.jpg

This photo is paired with my G-Spot Tickler, and my super-femme bed sheets.

At the sex shop where I used to work, there was a talk from Fun Factory. They sent a rep to talk about new products and give us some deals on what we ordered. At the end of the talk, all the workers present were presented with a gift; the Dolly Bi.

This vibrator is not one of Fun Factory’s fanciest. (Well, it WAS free.) It’s also not their well-known product (that’s the Stronic line). However, this vibrator does hold up well in today’s market, and the only way I could convey that is through lists. Here’s why:

  1. Good motor. I am quite spoiled on my vibrator experience. I don’t own very many, but I have felt many vibrators in my job at the sex shop. The Dolly Bi is above average. Does it absolutely blow my mind with one feel? No. But, it DOES feel pretty awesome on my clit. It’s not buzzy at all. It’s rumbly and deep.
  2. It’s rechargeable. I know this doesn’t make it stellar, but seriously, this click’n’charge thing is SO COOL. It attaches to the toy with some magnets and makes this weird noise and then it’s charging. My boyfriend cannot hear this noise, but it’s a high-pitched whine that I assume is the energy passing into the battery. It’s not alarming, just annoying.
  3. It’s a fun shape! Seriously, who DOESN’T like dolphins? Because it’s not in-your-face dolphin. It just happens to be dolphin shaped. If the tip didn’t have a mouth etched into it or tails on the bottom, it would just be a new shape. It’s classy and subtle type of dolphin. Not “oh my god I can’t have a vibrator can we please make it a shape instead” type of dolphin.
  4. It’s a subtle rabbit. It doesn’t try REALLY hard to hit the clitoris. It has a little arm that sticks into my urethral area, instead of my clit. It honestly still feels good because that area is pretty stimulating for me. However, I do tend to pat that arm on the head and push it gently away. Better than the types that stick themselves IN THE WAY of my clit with NO moving.
  5. It pin points the vibes. Exactly. It pinpoints the vibes in that nose, making it very easy for me to direct the vibrations into the exact spot that feels best (that spot seems to move frequently).
  6. But it doesn’t ONLY have pinpoint stimulation. The vibrations are all over the shaft of this toy, which curves into the nose. As a result, I can use the “back” of the dolphin over my whole labia, or turn it sideways and get a curve of vibration AROUND my clit (this feels really great).
  7. It comes in a color that isn’t pink or purple. That’s right folks, it comes in a wonderful Navy Blue (called dark blue on the website). I love that I have a toy which is blue. As a genderfluid person who adores rainbows, I like having choices.
  8. The controls make sense and are simple. The biggest button turns it on. The plus and minus buttons run through the settings (again, six steady intensities, six patterns). In addition, if you hold the fun button and the minus button at the same time for about 2 seconds, it locks into travel mode. If you hold the fun button and the plus for two seconds, it comes out of that.

So those are the really great points of this toy. I’ve been more than happy with how this toy has passed. I can verify that it’s %100 waterproof (every toy should be in my opinion). I can also verify that it holds charge. I didn’t charge it for two weeks. Not only did it hold the charge, but it actually still worked really well.

There are some negative points to this toy as well. I want to go into some detail, but I don’t want to dwell on them, because I do really like this toy, and I feel it is a sound investment if you want to support Fun Factory, which you should.

  1. The first one is the handle. It can get really hard to hold when slippery. I often find my fingers going numb or hurting trying to keep this toy firmly against my clit. However, I like a lot of pressure on my clit. I’m a power slut.
  2. The next one is that charging noise. It’s high-pitched in my ear, but it is quiet enough that at about 3 feet (the distance from my pillow to the ground where it rests), I can’t hear it.
  3. The clitoral arm. Why does this need to be there? It’s unnecessary and it feels kind of excessive. Not needed in the toy. Does not make better.
  4. The charging lights have no pattern. They could have easily made it a simple “this many blinks for battery life.” Instead, it seems to blink arbitrarily until it’s full, when it stops. (Also, there’s a protector on the battery, so you can’t harm it by leaving it on the charge for too long. They care!)
  5. The biggest drawback to this toy is the price tag. $100 is fairly steep. However, I understand why. Fun Factory has entirely unionized it’s workers. They work to help the environment by not using adhesives in their packaging (though too much cardboard). They also use %100 medical grade silicone in every toy. I understand why it’s $100, but the minimum wage being what it is, I have a hard time justifying it.

This toy has been regularly used in my play. I happily hand it to my boyfriend to use on me, and I use it myself. It’s quickly thrown my old bullet off of it’s throne. I would actually highly recommend this vibe (or other Fun Factory items), though it is expensive.

This post took the form of lists, which is a first. But I do like lists a lot, so it may not be the last!

Buy it from my friends at Wicked Butterfly!

Or from my friends at Betty’s Toybox!

Leave a Reply

