Indigo Tries the Lustre

6 out of 10

Would recommend as an introduction to bullet vibes, or discretion.

Pairs well with a small shot of Smirnoff Vanilla Vodka. Smooth, but still cheap. Really a stepping point to something better.

You can buy this vibe many places, but it’s hard to find online. It retails typically for about $17. It works on 3 of those stupid watch batteries that everyone has a hard time getting a hold of.

This vibrator comes in White (with purple accents), eye-sore pink (because it’s for WOMEN), purple (because sometimes women want other colors, but only get purple), and red (for some reason). I opted for the white because I thought it was the prettiest.

20170729_095830

I bought this vibrator from my local sex shop after the staff recommended it as a beginner bullet. They argued that it was versatile, fairly strong and completely water-proof. They also informed me that it was ABS plastic, which is an easy-to-clean, non-porous material that typically doesn’t cause allergic reactions. I bought it for $15 at the time. I was looking to replace my Pipedream bullet that had died after a month of use. The selling point for me was truly the water-proof aspect. I truly adore water and sex as a combination. Don’t ask me why.

I got home and immediately pulled it out of the tiny cardboard box. Inside was the vibrator and a small pamphlet of warnings, both just floating around. The shop had tested the vibrations, and so I had them leave the batteries in. It was ready to go before I was, and I was quite excited.

I turned it on and had one thought: “Rumbly.”

This vibrator is very rumbly compared to the Pipedream Neon line, which had been my previous bullet vibrator. The movement of the toy felt different. Closer to a rounding motion, instead of back and forth. It was a good contrast for me to experience in the way of sex toys. However, the Lustre lacks the intensity that the Luv Touch line offers. Perhaps it’s the watch batteries. Or perhaps it’s just a different motor. Whatever the difference is, it takes me a lot longer to get off with the Lustre.

There are 7 “functions” to the vibrator that you cycle through with one button. This aggravates many reviewers, but I don’t find it to be a problem. Though I masturbate for reviews and therefore have less time to mosy through a session, I realize that many masturbatory folks won’t have too much of a problem cycling through 7 functions. If there were 15, it might be a bit more cumbersome.

20170729_095851

The first three are steady vibrations at increasing intensities. The other four are pulses with various pauses. Small small BIG. Small Medium BIG. Small BIG LONG. And something else. Personally, the patterns on any toy are useless for me. I find that putting a toy on steady intensity and teasing myself with it is perfect. I can lift, push, adjust as I need to and not be surprised by the pattern changing. This is not true of everyone, and they may be really great for you.

There are other drawbacks to this toy. It measures about 2.5″ long, and at it’s widest, about .75″. It’s so small that I have a really hard time holding it. It gets lost in my labia frequently, and I usually have to fish it out as it tries to escape into my vagina. There is an amusing image of it trying to swim, but it doesn’t do a whole lot of good when I’m trying to get off.

I also dislike using this toy because I will inevitably get some kind of juice on my hands. If I’m using lube, I will lose my hold (and it swims towards the vagina). If I’m not, I’ll probably end up being covered in my own natural lubricant anyway. Without a good place to hold it, I get frustrated with this toy, and I’m growing to prefer my Dolly Bi on a more regular basis.

This is a really good vibrator if you’re looking for something portable, discreet and not too complicated. The size is a drawback for me, but I do enjoy the pin-point sensation of this vibe, as well as the quality of the vibrations. I’ll be using other toys primarily, but I enjoy this one as a beginner bullet and a step into the world of sex toys.

 

Leave a Reply

